Text

Energy efficiency and reduction of emissions

In Energy efficiency and reduction of emissions, MDH researches in energy efficient solutions, effect problems, integration of renewable energy inbuilding environments, and development of sustainable cities which have energy solutions with low or zero CO2 emissions.

Contact

Senior Lecturer

Fredrik Wallin

+4621103190

fredrik.wallin@mdh.se

MDH is also working out new solutions which can make possible a larger share of renewable energy, such as flexibility (demand-response, demand-side management, energy storage as well as solutions for linking together different energy carriers such as electricity to heat and power-to-x).


Focuses areas

  • Smart buildings with production and storage of electricity and heat.
  • Smart network systems.
  • New price mechanisms.
  • Detailed (energy) measurement and added values for new services, for example for efficient energy.


Members

Senior Professor

Erik Dahlquist

+4621151768

erik.dahlquist@mdh.se

Professor

Jinyue Yan

+4621103134

jinyue.yan@mdh.se

Senior Lecturer

Bengt Stridh

+4621107352

bengt.stridh@mdh.se

Postdoctoral Fellow

Eva Nordlander

+4621103149

eva.nordlander@mdh.se

Lecturer

Allan Hawas

+4621101363

allan.hawas@mdh.se

Lecturer

Amir Vadiee

+4616153277

amir.vadiee@mdh.se

Associate Senior Lecturer

Maher Azaza

+4621101422

maher.azaza@mdh.se

Post Doc.

Jakub Jurasz

+4621107325

jakub.jurasz@mdh.se

Associate Senior Lecturer

Pietro Campana

+4621101469

pietro.campana@mdh.se

Senior Lecturer

Robert Öman

+4621103137

robert.oman@mdh.se

Senior Lecturer

Patrik Klintenberg

+4621103195

patrik.klintenberg@mdh.se

Senior Lecturer

Hailong Li

+4621103159

hailong.li@mdh.se

Doctoral Student

Tommy Kovala

+4621101470

tommy.kovala@mdh.se

Research Engineer/Technician

Worrada Nookuea

+4621101630

worrada.nookuea@mdh.se

Assistant with doctoral student duties

Ying Yang

ying.yang@mdh.se

Ongoing research projects

The project will carry out pilot feasibility of renewable energies integrated with energy storage into municipal, recreational, and industrial buildings.


Project manager: Jinyue Yan

Main financing: The Knowledge Foundation

The project aims to develop web-based advanced level courses within the research profiles Embedded Systems and Future Energy Center at Mälardalen University.


Project manager: Monica Odlare

Main financing: The Knowledge Foundation

The goal of the IEA PVPS program is to promote international cooperation and thus facilitate solar cell technology to play a larger and significant role in the transition to sustainable energy systems.


Project manager: Bengt Stridh

Main financing: Swedish Energy Agency

The research profile will focus on meeting future changes in energy systems by increasing and streamlining the share of renewable energy.


Project manager: Jinyue Yan

Main financing: The Knowledge Foundation

The goal of MAGNITUDE is to design and develop business and market mechanisms as well as supporting coordination tools to enable an improved level of flexibility for the European electricity system.


Project manager: Jinyue Yan

Main financing: The European Commission’s Horizon 2020 Framework Programme

The project will consider the potential contributions of negative emission technologies (NETs) to limiting the global temperature increase to well below 2°C or 1.5°C.


Project manager: Jinyue Yan

Main financing: Swedish Energy Agency