Text

Prolonged independent life

The number of older people and people with disabilities who have care needs is increasing, at the same time as the shortage of staff is growing. This means challenges in health care and care and social service organizations, as well as increased efforts by, for example, carers and the voluntary sector. The introduction and use of health and welfare technology has a central role in facilitating the challenges of today and tomorrow and helping to promote a prolonged independent life for people with current or future care needs

Contact

Senior Lecturer

Petra Heideken Wågert

+4621103188

petra.heideken.wagert@mdh.se

Senior Lecturer

Lena Marmstål Hammar

+46214806915

lena.marmstal.hammar@mdh.se

The research group conducts research and research-related activities in:

  • conditions for a prolonged independent life
  • loneliness and social isolation
  • health and welfare technology
  • care and nursing for older people with cognitive illness / dementia
  • older people's perspective on care and nursing
  • risk of falling and malnutrition in care and nursing homes
  • relative support
  • working conditions in elderly care

The research takes place to a large extent in collaboration / co-production with the target groups, industry and staff in health care and social services.

The research group aims to increase the opportunities for, and support, a prolonged independent life and to contribute to the research base in the university's various educations in health and welfare.

 

Members

Senior Lecturer

Annelie Gusdal

+4616153279

annelie.gusdal@mdh.se

Senior Lecturer

Caroline Eklund

+4621107399

caroline.eklund@mdh.se

Senior Lecturer

Charlotta Åkerlind

+4621103126

charlotta.akerlind@mdh.se

Senior Lecturer

Christine Gustafsson

+4616153469

christine.gustafsson@mdh.se

Lecturer

Karin Jonasson

+4616153206

karin.jonasson@mdh.se

Assistant with doctoral student duties

Katarina Baudin

+4616153709

katarina.baudin@mdh.se

Senior Lecturer

Lena Marmstål Hammar

+46214806915

lena.marmstal.hammar@mdh.se

Lene Martin

lene.martin@mdh.se

Professor

Mia Folke

+4621101315

mia.folke@mdh.se

Senior Lecturer

Petra Heideken Wågert

+4621103188

petra.heideken.wagert@mdh.se

Senior Lecturer

Rose-Marie Johansson-Pajala

+4616153246

rose-marie.johansson-pajala@mdh.se

Researcher

Viktoria Zander

+4616153243

viktoria.zander@mdh.se

Ongoing research projects

The puropse with the project is to develop, test and implement a web platform that aims to reduce older people’s social isolation and experienced loneliness.


Project manager at MDH: Petra Heideken Wågert

Main financing: MKHV & Vinnova

To top